Youmanity now welcomes submissions for its 6th photography edition

Entitled The Everyday Heroine, this competition aims to put the spotlight on gender discrimination.

Youmanity invite you, the creative photographer, to grab your camera, to find and record the lives of the Everyday Heroines, to be their voice. To record those women who have influenced your life. They may be a source of inspiration or of aspiration, of learning or just comfort knowing they are there. Go capture images of everyday heroines – mothers, grandmothers, the nurse from your village, the teacher from your school, the social care worker, and the lollipop lady – whoever and wherever they may be.

Let us not forget the many women who work in the emergency and military services ~ the Police, the women who work for the healthcare systems  – our doctors and our nurses.

And then there are the staff you don’t see, the women working behind the scenes – without whom the front line would not function.

So, who will be your heroine?

Entries are free. The submissions will be selected by leading figures from the field of photography:

  • Anne Williams – Creative Director, PhotoLab, LCC
  • Brandei Estes -Head of Photographs Department, Sotheby’s
  • Carola Syz – Carola Syz Projects
  • Francesca Filippini Pinto – General Manager, Christie’s South Kensington
  • Rosemary Wilman HonFRPS – The Royal Photographic Society Past-President
  • Vilma Nikolaidou -Head of Development, Engagement, Culture, Tate Gallery

The closing date for entries is 16/06/2017 and winners will be announced 26/06/2017.

The winning images will be showcased in a group exhibition to be held in October 2017 during Breast Cancer Awareness Month at a prestigious location in London. The winner will be awarded a gold medal and 1,000 Euros in the presence of a very special Heroine.

Download the terms & conditions HERE

Sponsors: Gattarella Resort   Brainpull  EU Advisory Partners  Dukelectrical  DENAKEO Genesis

Supporters: Metropolitan Police  – The Fawcett Society – OPAAL

Patron: The European Commission